Quick Answer: Who Are The New Labour Cabinet?

Who are the members of the shadow cabinet?

October 2016 reshuffleLeader of the Opposition – Jeremy Corbyn.Deputy Leader and Shadow Culture Secretary – Tom Watson.Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer – John McDonnell.Shadow Foreign Secretary – Emily Thornberry.Shadow Home Secretary – Diane Abbott.Shadow Education Secretary – Angela Rayner.More items….

Is Emily Thornberry in the new shadow cabinet?

Thornberry was appointed to the Shadow Cabinet of Keir Starmer as Shadow International Trade Secretary in April 2020, succeeding Barry Gardiner.

Is Rebecca Long Bailey in the new shadow cabinet?

A member of the Labour Party, Long-Bailey served in the Shadow Cabinet as Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury from 2016 to 2017, Shadow Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy from 2017 to 2020 and Shadow Secretary of State for Education in 2020.

What does Shadow Cabinet do?

In British parliamentary practice, the Official Opposition Shadow Cabinet (usually known simply as the shadow cabinet) consists of senior members of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition who scrutinise their corresponding government ministers, develop alternative policies, and hold the government to account for its actions …

What is Emily Thornberry title?

Member of Parliament of the United Kingdom since 2005Emily Thornberry/Office

Who are the new Labour shadow cabinet?

Keir Starmer, MP for Holborn and St Pancras and Shadow Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union, was elected over Rebecca Long-Bailey and Lisa Nandy.

Who is the black woman who sits next to Corbyn?

Dawn ButlerDawn Butler MPMember of Parliament for Brent CentralIncumbentAssumed office 7 May 2015Preceded bySarah Teather28 more rows

Which university did Diane Abbott go to?

Newnham College, University of CambridgeUniversity of CambridgeDiane Abbott/Education

Is Yvette Cooper in the shadow cabinet?

A member of the Labour Party, Cooper served as Shadow Foreign Secretary from 2010 to 2011 and Shadow Home Secretary from 2011 to 2015. … After Labour lost the 2010 general election, Cooper served in Ed Miliband’s Shadow Cabinet as Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs from 2010 to 2011.

What does shadow minister mean?

Shadow ministers are members of the opposition, chosen by the Leader of the Opposition. Shadow ministers have the important responsibility of scrutinising—closely examining—the work of the government and individual ministers.

Do shadow cabinets get paid?

Although the salary and benefits paid from the public treasury to shadow ministers remain the same as for a backbencher, some opposition parties provide an additional stipend in addition to the salary they receive as legislators while many at least reimburse shadow ministers for any additional expenses incurred that …

Who is MP for Brent?

Barry Gardiner, MP has held his seat since 1997. He represents the Brent North constituency.

Where is Emily Thornberry from?

Guildford, United KingdomEmily Thornberry/Place of birth

Who is the present shadow home secretary?

The office has been held by Labour MP Nick Thomas-Symonds since 5 April 2020.

Who is shadow leader of the House?

Shadow Leader of the House of CommonsIncumbent Valerie Vaz since 6 October 2016AppointerLeader of the OppositionWebsiteThe Shadow Cabinet